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HOME IMPROVEMENT LICENSE INFORMATION 

Suffolk County Home Improvement Licenses are not valid in the Townships of Southampton, East Hampton 

and Shelter Island.  Please check with all other townships and municipalities for their license requirements. 

WRITTEN EXAMINATION 

Suffolk County Code requires that all applicants for a home improvement license pass a written examination 

on the content of Suffolk County Code Chapter 563 and New York State (NYS) General Business Law.  

This test will be waived if you have previously held a Home Improvement License that was issued 

after January 1987. 

A copy of Suffolk County Code Chapter 563 as well as Article 36-A of the NYS General Business Law is 

attached.  The questions on the examination will be in a true/false or multiple choice format.  If you are in 

the “chimney” industry, you will also be tested on questions pertaining to the chimney sweep profession. 

An application for a Suffolk County Home Improvement Contractor’s License requires a non-refundable 

application fee of two-hundred dollars ($200.00).  Applicants who fail the initial examination may take a 

second one without additional charge within 90 days of the filing of the original application.  If an applicant 

fails the examination a second time, the applicant must submit a new application with a $25.00 non-

refundable application fee. 

If your application is processed, you will receive written notification of the date and time of your 

examination. 

INCOMPLETE APPLICATIONS WILL NOT BE PROCESSED 

ALL PAPERWORK MUST BE COMPLETELY FILLED OUT 

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS 

1. Application must be filled out completely on both sides. 

2. Attach a current passport photo to the application. 

3. Complete and sign the attached affirmation.  Note that you must choose between (A) or (B) in the first 

paragraph. 

4. Attach the following to the application: 

A) If incorporated, please provide a copy of New York State filing receipt.   

OR 

B) If you are a d/b/a, please provide a d/b/a Certificate (Available from the Suffolk County Clerk’s 

Office in Riverhead at (631) 852-2000. 

AND 

C) Copy of NYS driver’s license or NYSDMV non-driver photo I.D. 

5. If you use any regulated chemicals or pesticides, you must submit proof of NYS Department of 

  Environmental Conservation Certificate.  If you have any questions regarding these requirements, 

 call the DEC at (631) 444-0340. 

 

 

-over- 
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6. If you intend to apply any fertilizer product(s), you will be asked to provide a Suffolk County Nitrogen 

Fertilizer Turf Management Course Certificate of Completion.  If you have any questions about 

approved course offerings, or the nitrogen fertilizer reduction law, you may call (631) 853-4412. 

7. Submit a non-refundable two hundred dollar ($200.00) application fee by check made payable to 

Suffolk County Consumer Affairs.  There is a one hundred dollar ($100.00) fee for the Home 

Improvement Contractor’s Restitution fund.  The license fee is ($200.00) per year.  Once your 

application has been approved and you have passed the written test, you will be asked to submit a 

check or money order for five hundred dollars ($500.00) for the required two-year license and 

Restitution fund. 

8. Submit a certificate of liability and property damage insurance in the minimum amount of five 

hundred thousand dollars ($500,000.00) combined single limit:  

 General Liability: Bodily Injury 

 Combined Single Limit $500,000.00 minimum pet occurrence, 

 $100,000.00 per person, $300,000.00 each occurrence and aggregate  

 Property Damage 

 $50,000.00 each occurrence and aggregate  

Note:  Any Home Improvement Contractor who is performing home raising/elevating services 

shall obtain insurance coverage for those services, which coverage shall include a riggers liability 

extension endorsement or similar endorsement to insure against damage to a homeowner’s 

movable and immovable property. The amount of insurance coverage required shall be a 

minimum of $500,000 per occurrence, including bodily injury, property damage and contractual 

liability, with an aggregate limit of at least $2,000,000. 

 Cancellation Notice: The certificate shall contain a statement that in the event the insurance is either 

cancelled, not renewed or materially changed, fifteen (15) days prior written notice shall be given to 

the  

Suffolk County Department of Labor, Licensing, & Consumer Affairs 

P.O. Box 6100, Hauppauge, NY 11788-0099 

FAX (631) 853-4825 
Description of Operations: Must be completed and match your designation. (i.e. carpentry) 

9.  A certificate of Worker’s Compensation as required by New York State Law.  If you have any 

 questions regarding Worker’s Compensation, please call 1 (866) 681-5354. 

10. Applicant Background must be completed and signed.  If you answer YES to any of the questions, 

 you must provide a detailed explanation as well as any pertinent documentation.  No application can 

 be accepted without banking information (#15).  This information must match your check.  You may 

 provide a voided matching check or a copy of your bank statement. 

For information regarding this application procedure, contact Licensing at (631) 853-4604 

YOU MUST PROVIDE US WITH A NEW YORK STATE ADDRESS! 
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APPLICATION FOR HOME IMPROVEMENT LICENSE 
Please Print – Answer All Questions 

APPLICANT’S NAME:  LAST______________________________FIRST____________________M.I.___ 

DATE OF BIRTH:____/____/________  SOCIAL SECURITY #:_____________________________ 
Privacy Act Statement 

Pursuant to the Federal Privacy Act of 1974, as amended, the disclosure of Social Security numbers for applicants is mandatory and is required by 42 USCS § 666(a)(I3), New 

York State General Obligation Law § 3-503, and Suffolk County Law § 563.5 and/or SCC 239, and/or sec 275-3A, and/or SCC 313-18A, and/or SCC 361-3A and/or SCC 391, 

and/or SCC 460-5, and/or SCC 483.  Such numbers disclosed on the application are requested for the administration of Title IV-D of the Social Security Act (Child Support 

Enforcement Act) and related provisions of State law.  Such numbers will be used by the Department of Labor, Licensing, & Consumer Affairs to facilitate application 

processing and to maintain a uniform system of identifying applicants. 

HOME STREET ADDRESS:________________________________________________________________ 

TOWN:________________________________________________STATE:_________ZIP:______________ 

HOME PHONE:________________________ EMAIL:_________________________________________ 

CELL PHONE:_________________________ FAX:__________________________________ 

BUSINESS NAME(S):______________________________________________________________________ 

BUSINESS STREET ADDRESS:_____________________________________________________________ 

TOWN:________________________________________________STATE:__________ZIP:_____________ 

BUSINESS PHONE:____________________  FAX:_____________________   

EMAIL:_________________________________________________________ 

IMPORTANT!  PLEASE NOTE THAT YOUR BUSINESS TELEPHONE NUMBER LISTED HERE WILL 

BE THE KEY NUMBER BY WHICH PEOPLE WILL BE ABLE TO SEARCH THE LABOR, LICENSING, 

& CONSUMER AFFAIRS WEBSITE TO DETERMINE WHETHER OR NOT YOU HAVE A VALID 

LICENSE.  IT IS IMPERATIVE THAT YOU LIST THIS CORRECTLY AND THAT THIS BE THE 

NUMBER YOU USE ON YOUR BUSINESS CARDS, CONTRACTS, ADVERTISING, ETC. 

Type Business 

___Corporation  ___Partnership  ___Sole Proprietorship  ___Other 

1. Federal Tax ID No._____________________________________ 

2. Worker’s Compensation No.______________________________ 

3. NYS Sales Tax Registration No.___________________________ 

Do you subcontract your work?  ____Yes  ____No  If yes, name & address of Subcontractor 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Personal Reference (not related by blood or marriage) 

Name:___________________________________________________  Tel:__________________________ 

Address:________________________________________________________________________________ 

1. Each Home Improvement Business must be licensed.  Each separate Business requires a separate license. 

2. Licensed Home Improvement contractors do not need a salesperson’s identification card. 

3. Corporate Officers or partners other than applicants will require a salesperson’s identification card. 

THIS IS AN APPLICATION: NOT A LICENSE 
-over- 

 

PASSPORT 

PHOTO 

Tel:_________________________________
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List all additional business names and addresses in which you are principal officer: including location of all branches 

and separate offices.  If “None”, write none. 

Business  Address  Principal type of work 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

List President, Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer, principal officers or partners.  Include present position.  If 

you are the only owner, list yourself for all four (4) positions.  If you own a Limited Liability Corporation (LLC) 

all officers must be listed.  If “None”, write none. 

Name  Address  Position in Firm 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

List all previous business or subsidiaries in which you were a principal officer, all other associated officers and 

present status of the business (i.e. defunct, bankrupt, sold, etc.)  If “None”, write none. 

Business Name  Address  Associated Officers Present Status 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

List name(s) of current employees, officers or partners who are now, or were, principal officers of any other 

companies engaged in the Home Improvement field during the past five (5) years.  Include business name(s), 

address and dates of affiliation. Use additional sheets if necessary.  If “None”, write none. 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Names and home addresses of all salespersons currently employed by your firm who are actively engaged in 

Suffolk County.  If “None”, write none. 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Are you presently or have you ever been licensed in Suffolk County or any other municipality?  

____ Yes ____ No 

If Yes, Where: ______________________ License # ____________________ Type License _______________ 

Expiration Date __________________ If more than one, list _________________________________________ 

Remit application fee of $200.00 (non-refundable) made payable to: Suffolk County Consumer Affairs 

Sec. 175.35-0ffering a false instrument for filing in the first degree: 

A person is guilty of offering a false instrument for filing in the first degree when, knowing that a written instrument 

contains a false statement or false information, and with intent to defraud the state or any political subdivision 

thereof, he offers or presents it to a public office or public servant with the knowledge or belief that it will be filed 

with, registered or recorded in or otherwise become a part of the records of such public office or public servant. 

Offering a false instrument for filing in the first degree is a class E felony. 

L. 1965, c. 1030 

Signed _____________________________________________ Date ___________________________ 
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Steven Bellone Frank Nardelli 
Suffolk County Executive Commissioner 

SUFFOLK COUNTY DEPARTMENT OF LABOR, LICENSING & CONSUMER AFFAIRS 
 

P.O. Box 6100, Hauppauge, NY 11788-0099   (631) 853-4600    FAX (631) 853-4825 

STATE OF NEW YORK ) 

COUNTY OF SUFFOLK ) ss: AFFIRMATION 

(Name) _____________________________________________________ 

(Company Name) ___________________________________________________ 

1. You must check either (A) or (B) 

(A) I affirm that there have never been any judgments filed against the above named individual 

applicant or firm. 

(B) I affirm that all judgments against me have been discharged, are being appealed, or being paid according 

to agreed scheduled payments with creditors and that there are no unsatisfied or unnegotiated judgments 

against either the above named individual applicant or firm. 

2. I hereby acknowledge that I have been advised, and am fully aware, that Suffolk County Code Chapter 

563 requires that any individual who negotiates or offers to negotiate a contract for the above named 

licensee with a consumer, or solicits or otherwise endeavors to procure a contract from a consumer on 

behalf of the above named licensee, whether or not such individual is an employee of the above named 

licensee, will first obtain an identification card from the Suffolk County Department of Labor, Licensing, 

& Consumer Affairs. 

3. I certify that all contractors/sub-contractors will have in their possession a valid Suffolk County 

Occupational License as required by Suffolk County Code. 

4. Briefly describe work to be performed:  
 Note: This must match the “Description of Operations” on your certificate of insurance 

 ________________________________________________________________________________ 

 ________________________________________________________________________________ 

5. I understand that if I am a landscaper using fertilizers or pesticides, I must submit proof of NYS 

Department of Environmental Conservation Certificate. 

6. I UNDERSTAND THAT A HOME IMPROVEMENT LICENSE DOES NOT ALLOW ME TO 

CONTRACT FOR HVAC WORK OTHER THAN DUCT WORK 

 Individual’s Name and Title _________________________________________ 

 Company Name __________________________________________________ 

AFFIRMATION (To be completed by Applicant): I AFFIRM UNDER PENAL TIES OF THE PENAL LAW, THAT I PREPARED 

THIS APPLICATION AND THAT THE STATEMENTS CONTAINED HEREIN ARE, TO THE BEST OF MY KNOWLEDGE 

AND BELIEF, TRUE AND CORRECT AND THAT I HAVE NOT KNOWINGLY AND WILLFULLY MADE A FALSE 

STATEMENT OR GIVEN INFORMATION WHICH I KNOW TO BE FALSE IN CONNECTION HEREWITH. 

COMPLIANCE AFFIRMATION: I understand the issuance of my license requires compliance with all laws applicable to my 

business.  I understand that Title 8 USC I 324a makes the hiring of unauthorized aliens unlawful and imposes record keeping 

responsibilities if I am an employer.  I am also obligated to pay taxes for employees I may have.  I affirm I am now and have been in 

compliance with Title 8 USC1324a and I have paid/will pay all required payroll tax payments for any employee including Social 

Security, Medicare and State and Federal unemployment taxes.  I AFFIRM THAT THE STATEMENTS ON THIS LICENSE 

APPLICATION ARE TRUE. 

Signed _________________________________ Date ____________________________ 

 over 
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Describe your work or business experience or knowledge of the trade that qualifies you for the license for which 

you are applying-be specific.  Who did you work for?  For how long?  What were your duties?  Have you attended 

any trade schools?  If so, when? 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 
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APPLICANT BACKGROUND INFORMATION 
 

Your Name __________________________________________________ 

 

YOU MUST ANSWER ALL OF THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS AND SIGN THIS FORM.  IF YOU 

ANSWER “YES” TO ANY OF THE QUESTIONS, PLEASE PROVIDE A DETAILED EXPLANATION ON A 

SEPARATE SHEET. 

 

(1)  Have you ever been convicted of a crime or offense of any kind (other than  

 traffic or parking violations) or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere? Y____ or N____ 

 

(2)  Are any criminal charges currently pending against you? Y____ or N____ 

 

(3)  Are you now, or were you ever on parole or probation?  If YES, you MUST  

 provide a letter of good standing from your parole/probation officer. Y____ or N____ 

 

(4)  Have you ever been the subject of any investigation by a federal, state or local 

      agency (other than a routine background investigation for employment purposes)? Y____ or N____ 

 

(5)  Have you ever been cited for contempt of any court or legislative, civil 

      or criminal investigative body or grand jury? Y____ or N____ 

 

(6)  Have you, or any business in which you are or were an owner, officer, director or  

       partner, been the subject of any criminal or administrative investigation? Y____ or N____ 

 

(7)  Are there any liens or judgments against you or any business in which you are 

       or were an owner, officer, director or partner? Y____ or N____ 

 

(8)  Were you, or any business in which you are or were an owner, officer,  

       director or partner, ever involved in a bankruptcy proceeding?  If yes, 

       where and when ___________________________________________________ Y____ or N____ 

 

(9)  Are there any tax liens currently assessed or pending against you or any business  

       in which you are or were an owner, officer, director or partner, or any real property  

       in which you have a beneficial or legal interest? Y____ or N ____ 

 

(10) How long have you resided at your current address? ____Yrs.___Mths. 

 

(11) Have you resided outside the State of New York for more than 180 days  

       in the last calendar year? Y____ or N____ 

       If so, please indicate below your out of state residence address: 

 ______________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

-over- 
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(12) Have you been conducting business under the present business name, 

        and if so, where? _________________________________________________ Y____ or N____ 

(13) Do you own or have any interest in real property that has been cited for health,  

       safety or environmental violations by federal, state or local authorities? Y____ or N____ 

(14) Are you in arrears on any child support and/or maintenance obligations? Y____ or N____ 

(15) Bank Accounts for this business: 

        Bank Name & Location: _______________________________________________________ 

        Bank Account #: ______________________ 

        Date Opened: ________________________ 

NOTE: A LICENSE WILL NOT BE ISSUED WITHOUT A VALID BANK ACCOUNT. 

(16) Name of CPA, if any: ________________________________________________________ 

        Name of corporate attorney, if any: ______________________________________________ 

(17) Have you or any immediate family member ever been involved in a business which had a license issued by 

        this Office?  Yes ___ No ___ License # _____________ Date Issued_________ Expiration Date ________ 

       Was this license suspended or revoked?  Yes___ No___ Date Suspended________ Date Revoked________ 

(18) Have you or any immediate family member ever been involved in a business which had a license issued by:  

       New York City? Yes___ No___ License #__________Date Issued__________ Expiration Date__________ 

      Was this license suspended or revoked? Yes___ No___ Date Suspended________ Date Revoked_________ 

 Nassau County? Yes___ No___ License #__________Date Issued__________ Expiration Date__________ 

 Was this license suspended or revoked? Yes___ No___ Date Suspended________ Date Revoked_________ 

 Any other local municipalities?  

 Yes___ No___ License # ________________ Date Issued_____________ Expiration Date___________ 

 Was this license suspended or revoked? Yes___ No___ Date Suspended________ Date Revoked_________ 

NOTE:  ALL ANSWERS AND RESPONSES WILL BE CHECKED AND VERIFIED 

 VIA COMPUTER SEARCH AND OTHER INVESTIGATIVE METHODS. 

AFFIRMATION (to be completed by Applicant):  I AFFIRM UNDER PENALTIES OF THE PENAL LAW, THAT 

I PREPARED THIS APPLICATION AND THAT THE STATEMENTS CONTAINED HEREIN ARE, TO THE 

BEST OF MY KNOWLEDGE AND BELIEF, TRUE AND CORRECT AND THAT I HAVE NOT KNOWINGLY 

AND WILLFULLY MADE A FALSE STATEMENT OR GIVEN INFORMATION WHICH I KNOW TO BE 

FALSE IN CONNECTION HEREWITH. 

 

Signed__________________________________________________   Date_______________________ 
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Chapter 563-LICENSED OCCUPATIONS 

§ 563-1 Legislative Findings:  The County Legislature hereby finds and determines 
that the health, safety and general welfare of the consumers of Suffolk County will be 
enhanced if provision is made for the licensing of persons engaged in the occupations 
regulated by this chapter.  

§ 563-2 Definitions.  

As used in this chapter, the following terms shall have the meanings indicated:  

BUSINESS 

Includes occupation, profession, trade, craft or any other calling for hire. 

COMMISSIONER or DIRECTOR 

The Commissioner of the Department of Consumer Affairs.  

CONSUMER 

An individual who buys or leases or agrees to buy or lease consumer goods or services 
or credit, including a co-guarantor or surety.  

CONSUMER GOODS, SERVICES, CREDIT AND DEBTS 

Those which are primarily for personal, household or family purposes.  

CONTRACT 

An oral or written agreement contained in one or more documents for the performance 
of work and includes all labor, goods and services. 

DECEPTIVE TRADE PRACTICES 

Any false, falsely disparaging or misleading oral or written statement, visual description, 
or other representation of any kind, which has the capacity, tendency or effect of 
deceiving or misleading consumers or the consuming public and is made in connection 
with a contract, preparation of or performance of a work estimate or invoice, in the 
extension of consumer credit, or in the collection of consumer debts. Deceptive trade 
practices include but are not limited to:  

A. Representations that:  

(1) Goods or services have sponsorship, approval, accessories, characteristics, uses, 
benefits, or quantities that they do not have.  

(2) The seller has a sponsorship, approval, status, affiliation, or connection that he/she 
does not have.  

(3) Goods are original or new if they are deteriorated, altered, reconditioned, reclaimed, 
or secondhand.  

(4) Goods or services are of a particular standard, quality, grade, style, or model, if they 
are of another.  
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B. The use, in any oral or written representation, of exaggeration, innuendo or ambiguity 
as to a material fact.  

C. Failure to state a material fact if such failure deceived or tends to deceive.  

D. Disparaging the goods, services or business of another by false or misleading 
representations of material facts.  

E. Offering goods or services without intent to sell them.  

F. Offering goods or services without intent to supply reasonably expectable public 
demand, unless the offer disclosed the limitation.  

G. Making false or misleading representations of fact concerning the reason for, 
existence of or amounts of price reductions, or the price in comparison to prices of 
competitors or one's own price at a past or future time.  

H. Falsely stating that a consumer transaction involves consumer rights, remedies or 
obligations.  

I. Falsely stating that services, replacements or repairs are needed.  

J. Falsely stating the reasons for offering or supplying goods or services at sale or 
discount prices.  

K. The failure by any person engaged in the delivery, pickup, inspection or repair of 
consumer goods and/or services in the home to keep an appointment to perform the 
delivery of consumer goods and/or services on the day agreed upon with the consumer 
unless the consumer has received written or verbal notice of delay or cancellation 
before the end of the preceding business day. This provision shall not apply to the sale 
or delivery of utility services, home improvement contractors working under a contract, 
requests by consumers for same-day emergency service, cancellations of appointments 
by the consumer, delays caused by the consumer or failures to keep an appointment 
caused by strike or natural disaster. If unexpected circumstances, such as a mechanical 
breakdown, preclude notification by the end of the preceding business day, then no 
violation shall occur if actual notice is given to the consumer as soon as practicably 
possible.  

DEPARTMENT or OFFICE 

The Department of Consumer Affairs.  

ENGAGES 

The undertaking, offering to undertake, solicitation or agreement to perform a contract. 

LICENSEE 

A person permitted to engage in a business licensed pursuant to the provisions of the 
appropriate article of this chapter. 

PERSON 

Includes the definition contained in § 37 of the General Construction Law of the State of 
New York, as well as an individual, partnership or other entity. 
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TEMPORARY LICENSE 

A license issued to a person for a period of time to perform work in accordance with the 
conditions as specified by the Director, provided that the holder thereof pays the 
required license fee.  

UNCONSCIONABLE TRADE PRACTICE 

Any act or practice which unfairly takes advantage of the lack of knowledge, ability, 
experience, or capacity of the consumer or which results in a gross disparity between 
the value received by a consumer and the price paid by the consumer. "Unconscionable 
trade practice" shall include any acts or practices which unfairly take advantage of a 
sudden disaster, such as hurricanes, tornadoes, flooding, blizzards, explosions, airplane 
crashes, earthquakes, nuclear war, radiological emergencies, war, civil unrest or 
disobedience or acts of God and comparable acts which result in gross disparity 
between the value received by a consumer and the price ordinarily paid by the 
consumer in the absence of one of these above occurrences. The existence of such a 
disaster shall be established, for the purposes of this chapter, by a written declaration 
by either the County Executive or a majority of the entire membership of the County 
Legislature. The Director shall initiate investigation of such unconscionable trade 
practices immediately after any one of the natural disasters or other acts of God 
described above.  

§ 563-3 License required; provisions of other legislation not affected.  

A. It is unlawful for any person, other than those exempt under the provisions of § 563-
4, to engage in any business in the County regulated by this chapter without obtaining a 
license therefor from the Office in accordance with and subject to the provisions of this 
chapter.  

B. A license issued pursuant to this chapter may not be construed to authorize the 
licensee to perform any work or engage in any business which is reserved to qualified 
licensees under separate provisions of state or local law or subsequent articles of this 
chapter.  

§ 563-4 Exempt employees and operations.  

The following are exempt employees or operations:  

A. Employees of any federal, state or local government, or any agencies thereof, or of a 
state or local authority, as that term is defined in § 2 of the New York Public Authorities 
Law, provided that such employees are performing the work on behalf of a government 
entity or public authority. This exemption shall not apply to any work performed by a 
person, as that term is defined in this article, who is not an employee of any federal, 
state or local government or any agencies thereof or of a public authority even if such 
work is performed on behalf of or pursuant to an agreement with a governmental entity 
or public authority. Editor's Note: Amended at time of adoption of Code (see Ch. 1, 
General Provisions, Art. IV).  

B. Employees of and on behalf of any gas or electric corporation, waterworks 
corporation or telegraph and telephone corporation, provided that such employees are 
performing the work on behalf of a gas or electric corporation, waterworks corporation 
or telegraph and telephone corporation. This exemption shall not apply to any work 
performed by a person, as that term is defined in this article, who is not an employee of 
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a gas or electric corporation, waterworks corporation or telegraph or telephone 
corporation, even if such work is performed on behalf of or pursuant to an agreement 
with a gas or electric corporation, waterworks corporation or telegraph and telephone 
corporation.  

C. Maintenance work by bona fide employees in an industrial, commercial, institutional 
or other such establishment within the building or property limits of the employer unless 
provided otherwise pursuant to this chapter or regulations promulgated hereunder.  

§ 563-5 Application procedure; information required; qualifications; issuance of 
license.  

A. All applications for licenses shall be submitted in writing on forms furnished by the 
Office and shall be accompanied by a nonrefundable application fee in the amount set 
forth in the appropriate article of this chapter.  

B. The license application shall be filed by an actual owner or partner of a business and 
shall be signed under oath. Where a corporation is an applicant or a participant in an 
application, the application shall be signed under oath by an officer of such corporation.  

C. All applications shall include the residence address of the individual who subscribes 
his name to the application.  

D. The Director may require the names and residence addresses of any employees or 
officers of the applicant, in addition to any other information which he may deem 
advisable and proper.  

E. Except as otherwise provided in this article, an individual applicant must be at least 
18 years of age, of good character and financially responsible. A licensee must maintain 
good character standing and maintain financial responsibility during the term of the 
licensee's license(s) and/or certificate(s).  

F. The Director shall investigate such applicant as to good character before he shall 
issue the applicant a license.  

G. Applicants shall meet such further qualifications as may be prescribed by this article 
and any other appropriate article of this chapter.  

H. The Office shall issue a license or temporary license to each applicant who has 
submitted satisfactory evidence of his qualifications and who has complied with all of 
the requirements of this article and any other appropriate article of this chapter.  

I. No applicant for a license or license renewal shall have any outstanding judgment for 
child support against him or her, or be in arrears in child-support payments as 
determined by official court records or official government records, at the time an 
application is filed for such license or license renewal. If an applicant has such a 
judgment against him or her, or is in such arrears, but is current in payments on a 
judicially approved, or Child Support Enforcement Bureau sanctioned, payment 
schedule to pay off or reduce such judgment or arrears, then such individual shall not 
be deemed ineligible for a license or license renewal on the grounds of such judgment 
or arrears. At least 30 days prior to the expiration of a license, the Office shall send a 
written notice to a licensee informing said licensee of his or her obligation to comply with 
the provisions of this section pertaining to compliance with child-support obligations. If 
necessary, a second written notice shall be sent by the Office to a licensee 60 days 
after the license has lapsed, informing said licensee of his or her obligation to comply 
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with the provisions of this section pertaining to compliance with the child-support 
obligations. In addition, the County Department of Social Services, through its Child 
Support Enforcement Bureau, shall notify all current noncustodial parents of the 
obligations contained herein.  

J. All license applications or renewals shall include a Federal Tax Identification Number 
or New York State Sales Tax Identification Number, as applicable. If such information is 
not provided, a license will not be issued.  

K. All license applications shall include a representation by the applicant that he or she 
is in compliance with 8 U.S.C. § 1324a, with respect to the hiring of employees. If such 
representation is not made, a license shall not be issued. An applicant shall be 
obligated to continue to comply with the requirements of 8 U.S.C. § 1324a during the 
term of his or her license, and his or her failure to so comply, as determined by the 
Director after an investigation by the Suffolk County Department of Labor or based upon 
a finding of a federal court, agency or administrative law judge under the procedures set 
forth in 8 U.S.C. § 1324a, shall constitute grounds for the imposition of a fine or the 
suspension or revocation of a license or the denial of an application for the renewal of a 
license, in accordance with the applicable provisions of this chapter.  

L. All applications shall include a representation by the applicant that he or she is 
making all required payroll tax payments for his or her employees, including Social 
Security taxes, Medicare taxes, and state and federal unemployment taxes. If such 
representation is not made, a license will not be issued. The applicant's failure to make 
required payroll tax payments during the term of his or her license, as determined by the 
Director after an investigation by the Suffolk County Department of Labor or based upon 
a finding of a federal or state court, administrative law judge, hearing officer, or agency 
of competent jurisdiction, shall constitute grounds for the imposition of a fine or the 
suspension or revocation of a license or the denial of an application for the renewal of a 
license, in accordance with the applicable provisions of this chapter.  

§ 563-6 Term of licenses; renewal; conditions; display required.  

A. All licenses, except temporary licenses, shall be for a period of two years from the 
date of issuance thereof at the discretion of the Office and shall expire on the last day of 
the 24th month of such issuance. Subsequent renewals shall be for periods of two 
years.  

B. No license issued hereunder shall be assignable or transferable.  

C. Failure to make application and pay the required fee for a license renewal prior to the 
expiration date of said license shall render the license null and void on the expiration 
date. Compliance with the provisions of this section shall entitle the licensee to the 
renewal of his license, provided that such license has not been suspended or revoked 
by the Director prior to the expiration date. Editor's Note: Amended at time of adoption 
of Code (see Ch. 1, General Provisions, Art. IV).  

D. If an individual licensee enters the Armed Forces of the United States, his license 
shall continue in force after the date of his entrance into the Armed Forces until six 
months after the date of termination of his first enlistment. If such licensee does not 
apply for renewal within this period, his license shall terminate without any notice or 
action by the Office.  
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E. The death of an individual who holds a valid license issued pursuant to this chapter 
shall terminate such license.  

F. A license issued in the name of an individual may be assigned or transferred for the 
remainder of the license period to a partnership, corporation or other entity, provided 
that the individual holding such license is a general partner of such partnership, the 
owner of not less than 25% of the outstanding voting shares of such corporation or the 
holder of not less than a twenty-five-percent interest in any other entity at the time of the 
assignment or transfer. The application for such transfer or assignment must be 
accompanied by evidence satisfactory to the Director that the above set forth 
requirements have been satisfied. No assignment or transfer shall become effective 
until proper endorsement evidencing said transfer or assignment has been made on the 
face of the license by the Director and such license, so endorsed, has been returned to 
the assignee or transferee. All such endorsements shall be made by the payment of a 
fee of $25.  

G. A license issued pursuant to this chapter shall be conspicuously posted in the place 
of business of the licensee.  

H. Each individual licensee shall, within seven business days after a change of control 
of ownership or of management, apply for the assignment or transfer of a license 
specified in Subsection F, or such license shall terminate. Every other licensee shall, 
within seven business days after a change of control in ownership or management, 
notify the Office in writing of such change.  

I. No licensee shall authorize or permit the use of his license by or on behalf of any 
other person.  

J. Each licensee shall, within seven business days after a change of address or trade 
name, notify the Office, in writing, of such change.  

K. A licensee may utilize his license for more than one entity in the same business with 
the issuance of a supplementary license pursuant to the provisions of § 563-7B, 
provided that the licensee holds more than a fifty-percent interest in each additional 
entity to be so licensed. Evidence satisfactory to the Director must accompany the 
application for such supplementary license.  

L. A licensee who determines not to engage in the business regulated herein may make 
application to the Office to inactivate temporarily his license issued pursuant to this 
article for a period not to exceed three years. The licensee will submit with the 
application for shelving said license a fee of $50 for each annual period of inactivity 
sought. Each shelving application shall be considered by the occupational licensing 
board which has jurisdiction over said license, and the Board shall recommend to the 
Director such action as it deems appropriate.  

§ 563-7 Duplicate and supplementary licenses; fees.  

A. A duplicate license may be issued for a license which has been lost, destroyed or 
mutilated, upon application therefor on a form prescribed by the Director and the 
payment of a fee of $25. Each such duplicate license shall have the word "duplicate" 
stamped across the face thereof and shall bear the same number as the one it replaces.  

B. A licensee shall obtain a supplementary license for each additional place of business 
maintained by such licensee within the County of Suffolk upon application therefor on a 
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form prescribed by the Director and the payment of a per-annum fee of $50. Each such 
supplementary license shall have the word "supplementary" stamped across the face 
thereof, shall bear the same number as the original and shall be conspicuously posted 
in each additional place of business.  

§ 563-8 Effect on validity of contracts.  

A contract entered into after one year after the effective date of the appropriate article of 
this chapter by a person who engages in a business regulated by this chapter, who on 
the date of the contract does not possess a valid license to engage in such business, is 
unenforceable by him and voidable at the option of any other party to the contract 
rendered or to be rendered to such party. Nothing contained herein shall be construed 
to prevent any other party to the contract from enforcing its terms.  

§ 563-9 Civil penalties.  

A. In addition to any other penalties provided pursuant to this article or pursuant to any 
provisions of any County local law, County resolution, or County ordinance pertaining to 
consumer affairs, consumer protection, or any matter subject to the jurisdiction of the 
Department, including, but not limited to, Chapter 387, Consumer Protection, of the 
Suffolk County Code, the Director shall have the power to impose a civil penalty upon a 
person not to exceed $750 for a first violation and $1,500 for any subsequent violation 
or to suspend or revoke a license or to deny an application for a license or the renewal 
of a license for any one or more of the following causes:  

(1) Fraud, deceit, misrepresentation or bribery in securing or attempting to secure a 
license.  

(2) The making of any false statement in an application for a license.  

(3) Violation of any provision of this article or any rule or regulation promulgated 
thereunder.  

(4) Violation of any provisions of any County local law, County resolution, or County 
ordinance pertaining to consumer affairs, consumer protection, or any matter subject to 
the jurisdiction of the Department, including, but not limited to, Chapter 387, Consumer 
Protection, of the Suffolk County Code.  

(5) Engaging in prohibited acts as defined in § 563-10 of this article.  

(6) Conducting a business regulated by this article without a valid license.  

(7) Failing to maintain good character standing during the term of the license(s) and/or 
certificate(s).  

(8) Failing to maintain financial responsibility during the term of the license(s) and/or 
certificate(s).  

B. The Director shall have the power to suspend or revoke a license or to deny an 
application for renewal of a license based on a violation of Chapter 433, Dumping and 
Littering, of the Suffolk County Code or a violation of any state, town or village law, 
ordinance or regulation prohibiting dumping on public lands.  

C. No license shall be suspended or revoked nor a fine imposed until after a hearing 
has been held before the Director upon at least seven business days' notice to the 
person. Such notice shall be served either personally or by certified mail, return receipt 
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requested, to the last known address of the person and shall state the date and place of 
the hearing as well as enumerate the grounds constituting the allegations against such 
person. The person may be represented by counsel and may produce witnesses in 
his/her/its own behalf. A record of the hearing shall be taken and preserved. For 
purposes of such hearing, the Director may administer oaths, take testimony, subpoena 
witnesses and compel the production of books, papers, records or other documents 
deemed pertinent to the subject of the hearing.  

§ 563-10 Prohibited acts.  

In addition to any prohibitions contained in this article or in any other County local law, 
County resolution, or County ordinance pertaining to consumer affairs, consumer 
protection, or any matter subject to the jurisdiction of the Department, including, but not 
limited to, Chapter 387, Consumer Protection, of the Suffolk County Code, the following 
acts are prohibited:  

A. Abandonment or willful failure to perform, without justification, any contract engaged 
in by a licensee.  

B. Willful deviation from or disregard of contract specifications or estimates in any 
material respect without the consent of the contracting party.  

C. Engaging in deceptive or unconscionable trade practices in the solicitation or 
procurement of a contract, or in the preparation of or performance of a work estimate or 
invoice, or in the collection of debts incurred for consumer goods and services.  

D. Directly or indirectly publishing any advertisement relating to goods or services 
offered by the licensee which contains an assertion, representation or statement of fact 
which is false, deceptive or misleading, provided that any advertisement which is 
subject to and complies with the then-existing rules, regulations or guides of the Federal 
Trade Commission shall not be deemed false, deceptive or misleading.  

E. Advertising or purporting to offer the general public any contract with the intent not to 
accept said contract for the particular work at the price which is advertised to the public.  

F. Conducting a business in any name other than the one for which the licensee holds a 
license except pursuant to the provisions of § 563-6K.  

G. Failure to comply with the provisions of § 563-6H and J.  

H. Offering, as an inducement to enter into a contract, a promise or offer to pay credit or 
provide any compensation or reward for the buyer's procurement of a contract with 
another.  

I. Willful failure to comply with any lawful order, demand or requirement made by the 
Director or the office or the local authorities having jurisdiction over the work being 
performed.  

J. Discrimination against any employee or applicant for employment with respect to the 
recruiting, hiring or discharge of such employee or applicant for employment, because 
of race, creed, color, national origin, sex, age, gender, disability, sexual orientation, 
military status, or marital status or, in the case of a citizen or national of the United 
States or an alien who is lawfully admitted for permanent or temporary residence, or a 
refugee or an individual who is granted asylum, because of such individual's citizenship 
status.  
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§ 563-11 Powers of Director; disposition of fees; liability.  

A. In addition to the powers and duties elsewhere prescribed in this chapter, the 
Director shall have the power to:  

(1) Keep records of all licenses issued, suspended or revoked and all fines adjudged.  

(2) Issue temporary licenses as may be necessary.  

(3) Promulgate such rules and regulations not inconsistent with the provisions of this 
chapter as may be necessary with respect to the form and content of applications for 
licenses, reception thereof, investigation of applicants and their qualifications, the 
conduct, including advertising, of occupations regulated by this chapter and other 
matters incidental or appropriate to his powers and duties as prescribed by this chapter 
and for the proper administration and enforcement of the provisions of this chapter; and 
to amend or repeal any such rules and regulations.  

(4) Require any applicant for a home improvement contractor license or a home 
appliance repair contractor license, or any such licensee, as evidence of financial 
responsibility, to post a surety bond, in an amount to be set by the Director, but in no 
event to exceed $100,000, and/or to furnish certificates of public liability and property 
damage insurance in the amount of $500,000 per occurrence combined single limit.  

(5) In addition to the requirements of § 563-11A (4) above, any home improvement 
contractor who is performing home raising/elevating services, as those terms are 
defined in Article II of this chapter, shall obtain insurance coverage for those services, 
which coverage shall include a riggers liability extension endorsement or similar 
endorsement to insure against damage to a homeowner’s movable and immovable 
property.  The amount of insurance coverage required under this § 563-11A (5) shall be 
a minimum of $500,000 per occurrence, including bodily injury, property damage and 
contractual liability, with an aggregate limit of at least $2,000,000. 

(6) Require reasonable information of an applicant or licensee, including the production 
of books, papers, records and other documents.  

B. No rule or regulation may be promulgated pursuant to Subsection A(3) herein unless 
a public hearing is held by the Director. At least seven business days' prior notice of 
such public hearing shall be published in the official newspapers of the County. A copy 
of all rules and regulations promulgated and any amendments thereto shall be filed in 
the office of the Clerk of the County Legislature.  

C. Whenever in this chapter the Director is empowered to or charged with the 
responsibility to do or perform any act, he may deputize, in writing, any officer or 
employee of the Office to do or perform the act in his place and stead.  

D. Disposition of moneys received. All fees received by the Office pursuant to the 
provisions of this chapter shall be remitted to the County Treasurer for deposit in the 
general fund of the County within 30 days after they are received.  

E. Liability for damage. This chapter shall not be construed to relieve from or lessen the 
responsibility of any person licensed under the provisions hereof for any loss of life or 
damage to person or property, nor shall the County of Suffolk be deemed to have 
assumed any such liability by reason of the issuance of any license.  
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§ 563-12 Penalties for offenses.  

In addition to any civil penalties imposed by the Director pursuant to this article or 
pursuant to any provisions of any County local law, County resolution, or County 
ordinance pertaining to consumer affairs, consumer protection, or any matter subject to 
the jurisdiction of the Department, including, but not limited to, Chapter 387, Consumer 
Protection, of the Suffolk County Code, any person who shall conduct a business 
licensed by this article without obtaining a license therefor or who shall continue to 
engage in such licensed business after having had a valid license suspended or 
revoked shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction, shall be subject to a fine 
of not more than $5,000 or imprisonment for not more than one year, or both. Each 
such violation shall be deemed a separate offense.  

§ 563-13 Injunctive relief.  

Upon application of the Director, the County Attorney or the District Attorney may 
commence an action in the name of the County to restrain, prevent and enjoin a 
violation of this chapter or any rule or regulation promulgated hereunder or any 
continuance of such violation.  

§ 563-14 Effect on existing licenses.  

A license issued by any governmental agency prior to the effective date of the 
appropriate article of this chapter shall continue to remain in full force and effect until its 
expiration or termination unless sooner revoked or suspended for cause.  

§ 563-15 Review of administrative determinations.  

The action of the Director in adjudging fines or suspending, revoking or refusing to issue 
or renew a license may be reviewed by a proceeding brought under and pursuant to 
Article 78 of the Civil Practice Law and Rules of the State of New York.  

As used in this article, the following terms shall have the meanings indicated:  

ESTABLISHMENT 

Any shop, residence, place or premises from which a home improvement contracting 
business is transacted. 

FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY 

Knowledge of the extent of liability and risks to which home improvement contractors 
expose themselves when accepting a home improvement license in Suffolk County, 
including knowledge as to the need to furnish certificates of public liability and property 
damage, insurance, as well as proof of workers' compensation, if required by law, and 
fees for the license.  

HOME IMPROVEMENT CONTRACTING 

Excluding work in the electrical and plumbing fields as defined by § 563-126 of this 
chapter, any repair, remodeling, alteration, conversion, modernization, improvement or 
addition to residential property, and includes but is not limited to painting of residential 
structures; carpentry; fencing; driveways; exterminating; flooring; ductwork for heating, 
ventilation and air-conditioning systems; masonry; roofing; siding; swimming pools; and 
waterproofing; as well as other improvements to structures or upon land which are part 
of residential property, including landscaping and arboriculture, which as used herein 
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shall mean tree sprayers, tree pruners, tree stump removers and all other tree services; 
but shall not include the construction of a new home or work done by a contractor in 
compliance with a guaranty of completion on new residential property or the sale of 
goods by a seller who neither arranges to perform nor performs, directly or indirectly, 
any work or labor in connection with the installation of or application of the goods or 
improvements to residences owned by or controlled by any government subdivision.  

HOME IMPROVEMENT CONTRACTOR 

A person who engages in home improvement contracting upon residential property. 

HOME RAISING OR HOME ELEVATING SERVICES 

Any services involving the separation of a house, or part of a house, from its foundation. 
Home raising or home elevating services shall include, but not necessarily be limited to, 
the temporary raising of a house or part of a house off of its foundation with hydraulic 
jacks and the shoring and leveling of a house. 

HOME MAINTENANCE 

The keeping in a state of repair or efficiency residential property, as defined herein. 
Such work shall not include alteration of or additions to the original design or function of 
the residence and shall be limited to the simple repair of existing facilities and systems. 
For the purpose of this article, "home maintenance" work shall be considered minor, 
casual and inconsequential in nature when performed in connection with the seasonal 
opening and closing of residences.  

OWNER 

Any owner of residential property, tenant or any other person who contracts for the 
services of a home improvement contractor or the person entitled to performance of the 
work of a home improvement contractor pursuant to a contract. 

RESIDENTIAL PROPERTY 

One- or two-family houses and property associated therewith. 

SALESMAN 

Any individual who negotiates or offers to negotiate a contract for a home improvement 
contractor with an owner or solicits or otherwise endeavors to procure a contract from 
an owner on behalf of a home improvement contractor, whether or not such individual is 
an employee of the home improvement contractor. 

§ 563-17 License required.  

A. It is unlawful for any person to engage in any business as a home improvement 
contractor without obtaining a license therefor from the office in accordance with and 
subject to the provisions of this article and Article I. Every licensee shall maintain an 
establishment within the State of New York.  

B. An individual applicant shall demonstrate to the satisfaction of the Director or his 
designee a basic understanding of the financial responsibility incurred by such licensing 
as evidenced by a written test administered by the Office to verify the applicant's 
knowledge of the requirements, terms and conditions of this chapter.  

C. All certificates of public liability and property damage insurance and workers' 
compensation shall be furnished to the Office by the applicant prior to the initial 
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issuance of the license or at any time there is a change in insurance carrier. At the time 
of license renewal, a sworn affidavit shall be required stating that all insurance is in 
effect or a certificate of insurance filed.  

D. All advertising for home improvement contracting shall contain the number of the 
home improvement license issued pursuant to this chapter.  

E. The Suffolk County Department of Health Services, in conjunction with the County 
Division of Vector Control, shall develop a three-hour course, certified by the Suffolk 
County Office of Consumer Affairs after approval by the Community Advisory 
Committee established pursuant to § 647-7 of the Suffolk County Code, to provide 
training in the use of nonpesticide procedures and the least toxic pesticide use under 
the Federal Insecticide Fungicide and Rodenticide Act (FIFRA). The course shall be 
available to pesticide applicators certified by the NYSDEC to use or supervise the use 
of pesticides in the State of New York, people who are working under the supervision of 
certified applicator, or those who do not use pesticides as defined by FIFRA, but are 
licensed through the Home Improvement Division of the Suffolk County Office of 
Consumer Affairs. Any landscaper successfully completing this course shall be issued a 
certificate by the County Office of Consumer Affairs stating "I'm Organically Trained."  

F. Every person applying under this chapter for a license to engage in, or applying for 
the renewal of a license to engage in, home improvement contracting, as that term is 
used in this chapter, and who applies any fertilizer in the operation of such home 
contracting business shall take a turf management course approved by the 
Commissioner of the Department of Environment and Energy, pursuant to rules, 
regulations and standards to be promulgated by the Department of Environment and 
Energy.  

Editor's Note: This local law provided an effective date of 1-1-2009. For additional 

provisions found in this local law, see Ch. 459, Fertilizer, Art. II, Sales and Use. 

G. Any applicant seeking a license to engage in, or applying for the renewal of a license 

to engage in, home improvement contracting, and who builds and installs swimming 

pools and permanent spas over 24 inches in depth, must provide proof that he or she 

has obtained the Association of Pool and Spa Professionals’ Certified Building 

Professionals certification or other pool building certification approved by the 

Commissioner and demonstrate a minimum of two years of experience in the building 

and installation of pools. These requirements shall not apply to individuals licensed as 

electricians or plumbers pursuant to Article XI of this chapter. 

H. Any applicant seeking a license to engage in, or applying for the renewal of a license 

to engage in, home improvement contracting, and who services the plumbing, heating 

and/or the electrical elements of swimming pools, permanent spas and/or portable spas, 

must provide proof that he or she has obtained the Association of Pool and Spa 

Professionals’ Certified Service Technician, Certified Service Professional or Certified 

Builder Professional certification, or other equivalent certification program approved by 

the Commissioner, and demonstrate a minimum of two years of experience and training 

in such servicing. These requirements shall not apply to individuals licensed as 

electricians or plumbers pursuant to Article XI of this chapter. 
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I. Applicants seeking to renew a license to engage in home improvement contracting 

and who engage in the building, installation or servicing of swimming pools, permanent 

spas and/or portable spas must provide documentation that the applicant has obtained 

a minimum of six hours of continuing education in their industry since their last license 

application or renewal. 

J. No applicant for a license renewal shall have any outstanding judgment for child 

support against him or her, or be in arrears in child-support payments as determined by 

official court records or official government records, at the time an application is filed for 

such license renewal. If an applicant has such a judgment against him or her, or is in 

such arrears, but is current in payments on a judicially approved payment schedule to 

pay off or reduce such judgment or arrears, then such individual shall not be deemed 

ineligible for a license renewal on the grounds of such judgment or arrears. At least 30 

days prior to the expiration of a license, the Office shall send a written notice to a 

licensee informing said licensee of his or her obligation to comply with the provisions of 

this article pertaining to compliance with child-support obligations. If necessary, a 

second written notice shall be sent by the Office to a licensee 60 days after the license 

has lapsed informing said licensee of his or her obligation to comply with the provisions 

of this section pertaining to compliance with the child-support obligations. In addition, 

the County Department of Social Services, through its Child Support Enforcement 

Bureau, shall notify all current noncustodial parents of the obligations contained herein. 

§ 563-18 Identification cards for salesmen.  

A. It is unlawful for any salesman, other than the individual who subscribes his name to 
the application for a home improvement contracting license pursuant to the provisions of 
§ 563-5, to engage in any business on behalf of a home improvement contractor without 
obtaining an identification card from the Office, subject to and in accordance with the 
provisions of this article and Article I. A salesman shall obtain an identification card for 
each licensed home improvement contracting business for which he is engaged.  

B. No identification card shall be issued unless a valid home improvement contracting 
license has been issued to the home improvement contractor on whose behalf such 
salesman is engaged.  

C. A transfer on assignment of a license pursuant to the provisions of § 563-6F shall be 
deemed to transfer or assign without charge the identification cards of salesmen 
engaged by the original licensee.  

D. The provisions of § 563-6K shall be inapplicable to salesmen.  

§ 563-19 Fees.  

A. An application fee of $200 shall accompany each application for a home 
improvement contracting license.  

B. The fee for a home improvement contracting license or renewal thereof shall be $200 
per annum.  

C. The fee for an identification card or renewal thereof shall be $50 per annum for each 
salesman. No fee shall be charged for an application for a salesman's identification 
card.  
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D. The fee for additional identification cards issued to a salesman who is engaged for 
more than one licensee shall be $50 per annum for each additional card and for renewal 
thereof.  

E. The license fee for an applicant qualifying under the provisions of § 563-24 shall be 
1/2 of the fee as set forth in Subsection B of this section.  

§ 563-20 Suspension or revocation of identification cards.  

A. An identification card issued to a salesman may be suspended or revoked in the 
same manner as a license may be suspended or revoked pursuant to this chapter.  

B. The provisions of § 563-9 with respect to fines shall be inapplicable to salesmen.  

C. The acts of a salesman carried out in the ordinary course of business shall be 
deemed to be the acts of the licensee, and such licensee shall be responsible for such 
acts pursuant to the provisions of this article and Article I.  

D. The suspension or revocation of a home improvement contracting license shall 
automatically suspend or revoke all identification cards issued to salesmen engaged by 
such licensee.  

§ 563-21 Prohibited acts.  

The following acts are prohibited:  

A. Any fraud in the execution of or in the material alteration of any contract, mortgage, 
promissory note or any document incident to a transaction.  

B. Preparing or executing any mortgage, promissory note or other evidence of 
indebtedness upon the obligation of the transaction with knowledge that it represents a 
greater monetary obligation than the agreed consideration for work performed.  

C. Failure to enter into a written contract for work to be performed which specifies 
starting and completion dates, description of costs of labor and materials.  

D. Willful or deliberate disregard in the violation of government building, sanitary, fire 
and health laws of the state or any political subdivision thereof in which the work is 
performed.  

E. A failure to abide by any provision of § 771 of the New York State General Business 
Law.  

§ 563-22 Temporary license pending issuance of permanent license.  

A. The Office shall issue a temporary license to any applicant for a home improvement 
contracting license if the Office has not, within 30 days after receipt of the application for 
such license, approved or disapproved the application.  

B. The temporary license shall be for a period of 90 days. If within such ninety-day 
period the Office shall have failed to approve or disapprove the application, the Office 
shall then issue a regular license to the applicant. If the application is approved during 
the term of the temporary license, the Office shall issue a regular license to the 
applicant.  

C. The fee for a temporary license shall be $50 per annum. The fee for a regular license 
issued to replace a temporary license shall be $150 for the first full year.  
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D. A regular license issued pursuant to the provisions of Subsection B shall expire on 
the last day of the 24th month following the issuance of the temporary license.  

§ 563-23 Exempted operations.  

No license or identification card shall be required of:  

A. An employee, other than a salesman or a person acting as a salesman, who 
performs labor or services for a licensed home improvement contractor for wages or 
salary.  

B. An architect, professional engineer or any other person who is required by state or 
local law to attain standards of competency or experience as a prerequisite to engaging 
in such profession and who is acting exclusively within the scope of the profession for 
which he is currently licensed pursuant to such other law. Issuance of a certificate of 
competency by any other federal, state or municipal agency shall not constitute a 
license issuance and all such contractors holding such certificates shall be subject to 
this article.  

C. A contractor engaged in the field of home maintenance or decorating.  

D. Any retail clerk, clerical, administrative or other employee of a licensed home 
improvement contractor who transacts business from an establishment.  

§ 563-24 Reduced license fees.  

An applicant may qualify for a reduced license fee in accordance with § 563-19E if the 
applicant's net business or related personal income from the home improvement 
contracting business does not exceed $20,000 per annum, and further provided that 
such applicant is not incorporated. The Director may require such proof of eligibility 
under this provision as he may deem advisable and proper.  

§ 563-25 Licensing board.  

A. Board. The County Executive, with the approval of the legislative body, shall appoint 
a seven-member Home Improvement Contracting Board to serve for a three-year term. 
Said Board shall determine the fitness of applicants for a home improvement 
contracting license and shall investigate and report on all proposed suspensions or 
revocations of licenses as hereinafter provided. Said Board shall be composed of 
individuals having a personal knowledge and interest in home improvement contracting, 
such as representatives of labor, management, trade or professional associations, and 
appropriate representatives of government. A Licensing Director shall be appointed by 
the Director and shall serve as secretary of the Board. The Director shall serve as a 
nonvoting ex officio member of such Board.  

B. For the initial appointment only, three members of the Board shall be appointed for 
three-year terms, two members for two-year terms and two members for one-year 
terms. All appointments thereafter shall be for a three-year term.  

C. Compensation. Each member of the Board shall be compensated at the rate of $100 
for each official meeting thereof attended in pursuance of the duties of said Board, but 
not more than $1,500 in any calendar year.  

D. Powers and duties. The licensing board shall have the following powers and duties:  
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(1) To hold meetings at regular times and places for the efficient discharge of the 
responsibilities and duties of the Board.  

(2) To make rules for the conduct of its meetings and to keep a minute book of its 
proceedings, including a record of its examinations and other official actions.  

(3) To examine the qualifications and fitness of applicants applying for licenses under 
this article.  

(4) To authorize the Director to issue a home improvement contracting license.  

(5) To conduct meetings and, after a hearing at which all interested parties are afforded 
a sufficient opportunity to be heard, submit recommendations to the Director relating to 
the suspension or revocation of home improvement contracting licenses for cause.  

(6) To keep records of licenses issued, suspended or revoked and to make such 
records available for public inspection.  

(7) To prepare a manual of rules and regulations for the conduct of examinations and to 
furnish copies thereof to persons desiring the same.  

(8) To formulate and recommend to the County Legislature, for adoption or amendment, 
a code of rules governing home improvement contracting, including the materials, 
workmanship and manner of executing such work. Before making such 
recommendations, the Board shall confer and meet with the representatives of the 
home improvement contracting industry and hold a hearing on the proposed rules. 
Reasonable prior notice of the time and place of such hearing shall be given by 
publication in the official newspapers of the County.  

(9) To formulate and recommend to the County Legislature, for adoption or amendment, 
rules and standards for the issuance, suspension and revocation of licenses and 
identification cards, including the conditions for the issuance of same, the type of 
examination required, the terms and fees and the conditions upon and the 
circumstances under which the same may be revoked or suspended.  
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New York State Business Law Article 36-A 
Home Improvement Contracts 

§ 770. Definitions.  

As used in this article, the following terms, unless the context requires otherwise, shall 
have the following meanings:  

1. "Person" means a natural person. 

2. "Owner" means any homeowner, co-operative shareholder owner, or residential 
tenant, or any person who purchases a custom home as defined in this section. 

3. "Home improvement" means the repairing, remodeling, altering, converting, or 
modernizing of, or adding to, residential property and shall include, but not be 
limited to, the construction, erection, replacement, or improvement of driveways, 
swimming pools, siding, insulation, roofing, windows, terraces, patios, landscaping, 
fences, porches, garages, solar energy systems, flooring, basements, and other 
improvements of the residential property and all structures or land adjacent to it. 
"Home improvement" shall also mean the construction of a custom home, the 
installation of home improvement goods or the furnishing of home improvement 
services. "Home improvement" shall not include:  

a. the sale or construction of a new home, other than a custom home as defined in 
this section; 

b. the sale of goods by a seller who neither arranges to perform nor performs, 
directly or indirectly, any work or labor in connection with the installation or 
application of the goods; 

c. the sale or installation of appliances, such as stoves, refrigerators, freezers, 
room air conditioners, dishwashers, clothes washers or dryers, which are 
designed to be removable from the premises without material alteration thereof; 

d. the sale or installation of decorative goods or services, such as draperies and 
carpets; or 

e. the performance of repairs, replacements, or other services pursuant to an 
express or implied warranty, or a maintenance agreement as defined in section 
three hundred ninety-five-a of this chapter. 

4. "Home improvement goods or services" means goods and services which are 
bought in connection with home improvement. Such home improvement goods and 
services include burglar alarms, texture coating, fencing, air conditioning, heating 
equipment, and any other goods which, at the time of sale or subsequently, are to 
be so affixed to real property by the home improvement contractor as to become a 
part of real property whether or not severable therefrom. 

5. "Home improvement contractor" means a person, firm or corporation which owns or 
operates a home improvement business or who undertakes, offers to undertake or 
agrees to perform any home improvement for a fee and for whom the total cash 
price of all of his home improvement contracts with all his customers exceeds one 
thousand five hundred dollars during any period of twelve consecutive months. 
Home improvement contractor does not include a person, firm, corporation, 



landlord, cooperative corporation, condominium board of managers, joint tenant or 
co-tenant that owns, in whole or in part, the property to be improved. 

6. "Home improvement contract" means an agreement for the performance of home 
improvement, between a home improvement contractor and an owner, and where 
the aggregate contract price specified in one or more home improvement contracts, 
including all labor, services and materials to be furnished by the home improvement 
contractor, exceeds five hundred dollars. 

7. "Custom home" means a new single family residence to be constructed on premises 
owned of record by the purchaser at the time of contract, provided that such 
residence is intended for residential occupancy by such purchaser and the contract 
of sale is entered into on or after the first day of March, nineteen hundred ninety. 

 § 771. Contract provisions. 

1. Every home improvement contract subject to the provisions of this article, and all 
amendments thereto, shall be evidenced by a writing and shall be signed by all the 
parties to the contract. The writing shall contain the following:  

a. The name, address, telephone number and license number, if applicable, of the 
contractor. 

b. The approximate dates, or estimated dates, when the work will begin and be 
substantially completed, including a statement of any contingencies that would 
materially change the approximate or estimated completion date. In addition to 
the estimated or approximate dates, the contract shall also specify whether or 
not the contractor and the owner have determined a definite completion date to 
be of the essence. 

c. A description of the work to be performed, the materials to be provided to the 
owner, including make, model number or any other identifying information, and 
the agreed upon consideration for the work and materials. 

d. A notice to the owner purchasing the home improvement that the contractor or 
subcontractor who performs on the contract or the materialman who provides 
home improvement goods or services and is not paid may have a claim against 
the owner which may be enforced against the property in accordance with the 
applicable lien laws. Such home improvement contract shall also contain the 
following notice to the owner in clear and conspicuous bold face type: "Any 
contractor, subcontractor, or materialman who provides home improvement 
goods or services pursuant to your home improvement contract and who is not 
paid may have a valid legal claim against your property known as a mechanic's 
lien. Any mechanic's lien filed against your property may be discharged. 
Payment of the agreed-upon price under the home improvement contract prior to 
filing of a mechanic's lien may invalidate such lien. The owner may contact an 
attorney to determine his rights to discharge a mechanic's lien". 

e. A notice to the owner purchasing the home improvement that, except as 
otherwise provided in paragraph (g) of this subdivision, the home improvement 
contractor is legally required to deposit all payments received prior to completion 
in accordance with subdivision four of section seventy-one-a of the lien law and 
that, in lieu of such deposit, the home improvement contractor may post a bond, 
contract of indemnity or irrevocable letter of credit with the owner guaranteeing 



the return or proper application of such payments to the purposes of the 
contract. 

f. If the contract provides for one or more progress payments to be paid to the 
home improvement contractor by the owner before substantial completion of the 
work, a schedule of such progress payments showing the amount of each 
payment, as a sum in dollars and cents, and specifically identifying the state of 
completion of the work or services to be performed, including any materials to be 
supplied before each such progress payment is due. The amount of any such 
progress payments shall bear a reasonable relationship to the amount of work to 
be performed, materials to be purchased, or expenses for which the contractor 
would be obligated at the time of payment. 

g. If the contract provides that the home improvement contractor will be paid on a 
specified hourly or time basis for work that has been performed or charges for 
materials that have been supplied prior to the time that payment is due, such 
payments for such work or materials shall not be deemed to be progress 
payments for the purposes of paragraph (f) of this subdivision, and shall not be 
required to be deposited in accordance with the provisions of paragraph (e) of 
this subdivision. 

h. A notice to the owner that, in addition to any right otherwise to revoke an offer, 
the owner may cancel the home improvement contract until midnight of the third 
business day after the day on which the owner has signed an agreement or offer 
to purchase relating to such contract. Cancellation occurs when written notice of 
cancellation is given to the home improvement contractor. Notice of cancellation, 
if given by mail, shall be deemed given when deposited in a mailbox properly 
addressed and postage prepaid. Notice of cancellation shall be sufficient if it 
indicates the intention of the owner not to be bound. Notwithstanding the 
foregoing, this paragraph shall not apply to a transaction in which the owner has 
initiated the contact and the home improvement is needed to meet a bona fide 
emergency of the owner, and the owner furnishes the home improvement 
contractor with a separate dated and signed personal statement in the owner's 
handwriting describing the situation requiring immediate remedy and expressly 
acknowledging and waiving the right to cancel the home improvement contract 
within three business days. For the purposes of this paragraph the term "owner" 
shall mean an owner or any representative of an owner. 

2. The writing shall be legible, in plain English, and shall be in such form to describe 
clearly any other document which is to be incorporated into the contract. Before any 
work is done, the owner shall be furnished a copy of the written agreement, signed 
by the contractor. The writing may also contain other matters agreed to by the 
parties to the contract. 
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