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SUFFOLK COUNTY DEPARTMENT OF LABOR, LICENSING & CONSUMER AFFAIRS 
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REGISTRATION INSTRUCTIONS FOR THE BOARD UP INDUSTRY 

1. Complete application and sign where indicated. 

2. Attach a passport sized photo to the application. 

3. Complete and sign Applicant Background Information. 

4. Attach the following to the application: 

A) A copy of the New York State Corporate filing receipt.  Please provide a list of all four 

(4) corporate officers. (President, Vice President, Secretary & Treasurer)  You can hold 

multiple offices. 

OR 

B) If your business is a d/b/a/ provide a copy of the d/b/a certificate.  (Available from the 

Suffolk County Clerk’s Office in Riverhead.  Call (631) 852-2000 for information) 

C) A copy of the applicant’s NYS driver’s license of NYSDMV non-driver photo I.D. 

D) Submit a certificate of liability and property damage insurance in the minimum amount of 

one hundred thousand dollars, ($100,000.00) combined single limit.  Certificate shall 

contain a statement that in the event the Certificate of Insurance is either cancelled, not 

renewed, or materially changes, fifteen (15) days prior notice shall be given.  SUFFOLK 

COUNTY DEPARTMENT OF LABOR LICENSING & CONSUMER AFFAIRS 

must be listed as the certificate holder.   

E) Furnish proof of a License & Permit bond in the amount of ten thousand ($10,000.00) 

dollars. 

F) A certificate of Worker’s Compensation as required by New York State Law. 

G) Submit a non-refundable one hundred dollar ($100.00) application fee by check made 

payable to Suffolk County Consumer Affairs.  An additional check in the amount $200.00 

to cover the two (2) year registration should be included. 

PLEASE NOTE SUFFOLK COUNTY LAW REQUIRES: 

Identification cards are required for all salesmen other than the individual who subscribes his/her 

name to the application.  Applications can be downloaded on our website or supplied upon request. 

Board up businesses shall display their County registration number on all vehicles and identification 

used by employees. 

Contractors holding a valid Suffolk County Home Improvement License shall be exempted from 

the registration requirements. 
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REGISTRATION FOR BOARD UP BUSINESS 

Please Type or Print – Answer All Questions 

Applicant’s Name:  Last_______________________________  First_______________________  M.I.___ 

Date of Birth:____/____/________  Social Security #:_______________________ 
Privacy Act Statement 

Pursuant to the Federal Privacy Act of 1974, as amended, the disclosure of Social Security numbers for applicants is mandatory and is required by 42 USCS § 666(a)(I3), New 

York State General Obligation Law § 3-503, and Suffolk County Law § 563.5 and/or SCC 239, and/or sec 275-3A, and/or SCC 313-18A, and/or SCC 361-3A and/or SCC 391, 

and/or SCC 460-5, and/or SCC 483.  Such numbers disclosed on the application are requested for the administration of Title IV-D of the Social Security Act (Child Support 

Enforcement Act) and related provisions of State law.  Such numbers will be used by the Department of Labor, Licensing, & Consumer Affairs to facilitate application 

processing and to maintain a uniform system of identifying applicants. 

Home Street Address:____________________________________________________________________ 

Town:______________________________________  State:_________  Zip:______________ 

Home Phone:________________________  Fax:_______________________ 

Cell:____________________________  Email:________________________________________________ 

Business Name(s):_______________________________________________________________________ 

Business Street Address:__________________________________________________________________ 

Town:______________________________________  State:__________  Zip:_____________ 

Business Phone:_______________________  Fax:_____________________________ 

Cell:____________________________  Email:________________________________________________ 

IMPORTANT:  Note that your business telephone number listed here will be the key number by which 

people will be able to search the Consumer Affairs website to determine whether or not you have a valid 

registration.  You must list this number correctly on business cards, contracts, advertising etc. 

 

Additional Owners/Partners:  ___Yes   ___No   If yes, list names and addresses. 

______________________________________________________________________ 

Name Address 

______________________________________________________________________ Passport Photo 

Name Address 

Use reverse side for more 

 

REMIT APPLICATION FEE OF $100.00 (NON-REFUNDABLE) MADE PAYABLE TO: SUFFOLK 

COUNTY CONSUMER AFFAIRS.  THERE IS AN ADDITIONAL $200.00 BIENNIAL 

REGISTRATION FEE. 

Penal Law § 175.35: Offering a false instrument for filing in the first degree:  A person is guilty of offering a false instrument for filing in 

the first degree when, knowing that a written instrument contains a false statement or false information, and with intent to defraud the state 

or any political subdivision thereof, he offers or presents it to a public office or public servant with the knowledge or belief that it will be 

filed with, registered or recorded in or otherwise become a part of the records of such public office or public servant.  Offering a false 

instrument for filing in the first degree is a class E felony. 

 

Signed:______________________________________  Date______________________________ 
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__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Name Address 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Name Address 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Name Address 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Name Address 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Name Address 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Name Address 

 



Chapter 517 Home Improvement and Repair 

Article III Property Preservation Businesses 

§ 517-18 Registration required; fees. 

A. No board-up business shall operate within the County of Suffolk unless it has 
registered with the Department in accordance with the provisions of this section. The 
initial application fee for registration shall be $100. Registration shall be filed biannually 
for a fee of $200. 

B. Each registrant must provide the following information and appropriate supporting 
documentation: 

(1) The name of the board-up business. 

(2) The principal address and the names of all owners of the business. 

(3) Documents providing proof of public liability and property damage insurance, 
workers' compensation, and a surety bond. 

C. No applicant for registration or renewal shall have any outstanding judgment for child 
support against him or her, or be in arrears in child-support payments as determined by 
official court records or official government records, at the time an application is filed for 
such registration or renewal. If an applicant has such a judgment against him or her, or 
is in such arrears, but is current in payments on a judicially approved, or Child Support 
Enforcement Bureau sanctioned, payment schedule to pay off or reduce such judgment 
or arrears, then such individual shall not be deemed ineligible for registration or renewal 
on the grounds of such judgment or arrears. At least 30 days prior to the expiration of a 
registration, the Office shall send a written notice to a registrant informing said registrant 
of his or her obligation to comply with the provisions of this section pertaining to 
compliance with child-support obligations. If necessary, a second written notice shall be 
sent by the Office to a registrant 60 days after the registration has lapsed, informing 
said registrant of his or her obligation to comply with the provisions of this section 
pertaining to compliance with the child-support obligations. In addition, the County 
Department of Social Services, through its Child Support Enforcement Bureau, shall 
notify all current noncustodial parents of the obligations contained herein. 

D. The Department shall provide each board-up business which has complied with 
registration requirements a registration certificate and an identification card, which shall 
have a registration number and expiration date. 

E. Board-up businesses shall display their County registration number on all vehicles 
and identification used by employees. 

§ 517-19 Identification card for salesmen; fee. 

A. It is unlawful for any salesman, other than the individual who subscribes his name to 
the application for a board-up business registration pursuant to the provisions of this 
article, to engage in any business on behalf of a board-up business without obtaining an 
identification card from the Department. A salesman shall obtain an identification card 
for each registered board-up business for which he or she is engaged. 



B. The fee for an identification card or renewal thereof shall be $100 biannually for each 
salesman. No fee shall be charged for an application for a salesman's identification 
card. 

C. No identification card shall be issued unless a valid board-up business registration 
has been issued to the board-up business on whose behalf such salesman is engaged. 

§ 517-20 Requirements. 

A. Any registered board-up business shall conform to the standards of boarding and 
securing a property established by the federal Department of Housing and Urban 
Development, as attached hereto as Exhibit A,[1] when performing work. 

[1] Editor's Note: Exhibit A is on file in the County offices. 

B. Any person employed by or operating a board-up business shall stay behind fire lines 
established by a fire department or police department until authorized to cross by a 
police officer, the chief of a fire department or a fire marshal. 

C. Any person employed by or operating a board-up business shall comply with orders 
or directives given by police, Fire Marshal, or fire department personnel while a fire 
scene remains active. 

§ 517-21Prohibited acts. 

The following acts are prohibited: 

A. Abandonment or willful failure to perform, without justification, any contract engaged 
in by a registrant. 

B. Willful deviation from or disregard of contract specifications or estimates in any 
material respect without the consent of the contracting party. 

C. Engaging in deceptive trade practices or unconscionable trade practices in the 
solicitation or procurement of a contract, or in the preparation of or performance of a 
work estimate or invoice, or in the collection of debts incurred for services. 

D. Willful failure to comply with any lawful order, demand or requirement made by the 
Commissioner or the office or the local authorities having jurisdiction over the work 
being performed. 

§ 517-22 Exempted operations. 

A. Home improvement contractors duly licensed by the County of Suffolk pursuant to 
Chapter 563 of the Suffolk County Code or similarly licensed by the jurisdiction in which 
the board-up services are needed or being performed shall be exempted from the 
registration requirements and are authorized to engage in board-up services in 
compliance with the requirements set forth in this article. Home improvement 
contractors and their employees shall utilize their license number for identification 
purposes when at a location where board-up services are needed or being performed. 

B. Municipal employees boarding up structures or otherwise performing board-up 
services in their official capacity as part of their job duties shall be exempted from the 
requirements of this article. 

§ 517-23 Online registry. 



The Department shall maintain an online registry of the registered board-up businesses 
which allows consumers to look up a business registration status. 
  



§ 517-24 Authorization for filing complaints. 

A. Complaints leading to investigation and penalties may be initiated by a consumer or 
any municipal entity which is present at locations where board-up services are needed 
or being performed. Any submission to the Department from a municipal entity 
indicating that a citation was issued to a board-up business or its agents for violation of 
this article shall be deemed sufficient for the opening of a complaint. 

B. Complaints shall be filed with the Department and FRES. The Department and FRES 
shall notify one another upon receipt of a complaint to ensure appropriate 
communication. 

§ 517-25 Penalties for offenses. 

A. Any board-up business which violates any of the provisions of this article shall be 
subject to a civil penalty of no less than $500 nor more than $1,000 for each violation. 
Each action in violation of this article shall constitute a separate and distinct violation. 

B. The Department is hereby empowered to revoke or deny a registration certificate to 
any board-up business which fails to file all required information, files falsified 
information or is found responsible for more than three violations during any registration 
period of two years. Any board-up business whose registration is revoked or denied 
may reapply after a period of two years. 

C. Any civil penalty, revocation or denial of registration may only be assessed by the 
Commissioner following a hearing and opportunity for an alleged violator to be heard. 

D. In addition to any civil penalties imposed by the Commissioner pursuant to this 
article, any person who shall conduct a board-up business requiring registration under 
this article without obtaining the registration therefor or who shall continue to engage in 
such business after having a registration revoked or denied shall be guilty of a 
misdemeanor and, upon conviction, shall be subject to a fine of not more than $5,000 or 
imprisonment for up to one year, or both. Each such violation shall be deemed a 
separate offense. 

§ 517-26 Enforcement. 

This article shall be enforced by the Department of Labor, Licensing and Consumer 
Affairs. 
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