
SUFFOLK COUNTY HOTEL MOTEL TAX PROGRAM 
                                                   Guidelines and Legal Authority 

Updated to include changes made by Local Law 33 -2009 AND 49-2011 
 

THE TAX 
Every facility providing overnight lodging for a fee in Suffolk County is required to collect the 
Suffolk County hotel motel tax. The tax is to be collected from persons occupying rooms in 
Suffolk County at the rate of 3.0% of the per-diem rental rate (exclusive of sales tax) actually 
imposed for each hotel or motel room.  This tax is to be remitted separately from the New York 
State sales tax.  (Suffolk County Code Chapter 523-9-a; 523-10-b) 
 
REGISTERING TO COLLECT THE TAX 
All lodging facilities must first register with the County Treasurer (Chapter 523-9-c) within 10 
days of opening or change of ownership   

 Failure to register is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $1,000 and/or 
a year in prison. (Chapter 523-10-f) 

 
CERTIFICATE OF AUTHORITY 
The County Treasurer will send a certificate of authority to each newly registered facility.  Since 
the certificate empowers the facility to collect the tax, the owner or operator must display it in a 
place for guests to see.  The owner or operator must return the certificate to the Treasurer when 
the facility ceases business or changes owners because the certificate is not transferable. 
(Chapter 523-9-c) 
 
FILING TAX RETURNS 
Facilities are required to remit the hotel tax and a simple tax return form to the County Treasurer 
on a quarterly basis. A blank form will be mailed to you each quarter. It is due back with 
payment on the 20th day (postmarked) of March, June, September and December without 
penalty (Chapter 523-10-c).     We accept checks, bank (teller’s) checks, and money orders as 
payment.  Facilities are required to complete and sign the return even if they are 
closed for the quarter or had no guests or no taxable room rental income.  Any 
operator who fails to file a return or willfully fails to collect the tax or willfully falsifies a return 
can be prosecuted criminally and/or civilly under recent changes in the law. (Chapter 523-10-f) 
 
LATE RETURNS 
For tax returns that are postmarked after the 20th of March, June, September and December, 
facilities are assessed a 5% penalty on the amount owed plus an additional 1% for each month 
that the return is past due or portion thereof (Chapter 523-10-e).  Facilities attempting to remit 
with bad checks will be assessed a $20 returned check fee.  
 
EXEMPTIONS 
Lodging facility operators/ owners should not collect the tax under the following conditions. 
Guests who are permanent residents staying for 30 consecutive days or more are exempt from 
paying the tax.  Guests whose room charges are being reimbursed by New York State or political 
subdivision thereof, another state or political subdivision thereof, the federal government or the 
United Nations or other international agency of which the U.S. is a member are also exempt. 
Guests whose room charges are being reimbursed by charitable (including those for the 
prevention of cruelty to children and animals), religious or educational organizations organized 
and funded exclusively for those purposes.    On the quarterly hotel motel tax return, gross 
income from room occupancy for exemptions must be included on line 1 and excluded on line 2. 
(Chapter 523-9-a) 
 
DETERMINATION OF TAX LIABILITY 
If our office does not receive a quarterly return or, has a question about a filed return, we will 
take the following steps to resolve the problem.  We will always attempt to resolve the situation 
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informally and professionally by phone then by mail and finally by a visit to the facility by an 
authorized employee, if necessary. In those very few cases where the owner or operator of the 
facility refuses or neglects to cooperate in providing a return, a registration form or additional 
information on a submitted form, the County Treasurer has the power to subpoena records and 
witnesses; to make a determination of tax liability based upon information available and to 
recover the tax due with fines and penalties in civil court.   (Chapter 523-10-m, n)  False 
testimony or failure to produce records is a misdemeanor offense punishable by up to a year in 
prison (Chapter 523-10-o).    
 
 
CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP 
County law now requires a new owner who is acquiring a hotel, motel or other lodging facility in  
Suffolk County to notify the County Treasurer at least 10 days before taking possession of the 
facility.  Whether by sale, transfer or assignment, the prospective new owner must send a 
registered or certified letter, return receipt requested.  Said letter should notify the Treasurer: “of 
the proposed sale and of the price, terms and conditions thereof, whether or not the seller, 
transferor or assignor, has represented to, or informed the purchaser, transferee or assignee that 
it owes any tax pursuant to this chapter, and whether or not the purchaser, transferee or 
assignee has knowledge that such taxes are owing, and whether any such taxes are in fact 
owing.”  (Chapter 523-10-j)   It is therefore the seller’s responsibility to disclose to the purchaser 
the outstanding Suffolk County hotel motel tax liability prior to the notification.   
 
CONFIDENTIALITY 
The information on individual hotel motel tax returns is confidential and not available to others 
under Freedom of Information Law.  County employees are prohibited from disclosing this 
information except by court order or as part of legal action by a County agency. (Chapter 523-10-
q) 
 
 
WHAT’S FUNDED BY THE TAX 
The tax is deposited into a separate fund.  24% of hotel and motel tax revenues fund tourism 
promotion activities conducted in our County by the L.I. Convention and Visitor’s Bureau under 
contract with the County (Chapter 523-14-a).  10% of the revenues are used to support cultural 
programs and activities relevant to the tourism industry; 10% are used to support The Suffolk 
County Vanderbilt Museum; 8% are used for the support of other museums and historical 
societies. The balance of revenues collected support care, maintenance and interpretation for 
historic structures and sites and natural areas managed by the Suffolk County Parks Department 
which are open to tourists on a regular basis (Chapter 523-14-b-g).  Expenditures are subject to 
annual budget approval by the County Legislature.   
 
CONTACT 
For additional information and assistance, please contact Barbara Zelenski in the Suffolk County 
Treasurer’s Office at 631-852-1523. 
 
 
 
 


