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Huffing driver who caused fatal crash sentenced to up to 12 years in
prison

A Huntington driver who admitted “huffing” an aerosol can of computer cleaner
prior to running a red light and causing a fatal crash in Commack on New Year’s
Eve in 2013 was sentenced to four to 12 years in prison today, Suffolk County
District Attorney Thomas Spota said.

James Murphy told police he inhaled a can of “Dust Off” prior to the crash at the
intersection of Commack and Hauppauge road, as well as admitting he took Xanax
and smoked hash a couple of days earlier. Murphy pleaded guilty to manslaughter
in the second degree, reckless endangerment in the second degree, reckless
driving and leaving the scene of a fatal accident.

The sedan Herta Palma was driving was broadsided by Murphy’s Chevy Blazer and
the 63-year old Commack grandmother died soon after being transported to
Huntington Hospital.

The victim’s daughter-in-law in a letter to the court said she was dismayed when
she learned that Murphy’s mother “enabled” her son.

“I was shocked after reading your (James Murphy’s) Facebook pages that you had
received gifts — bongs — from your mother and family members...Why would a
mother knowingly let her son drive her truck knowing he could be high on
something due to its being allowed and accepted in your home,” wrote Mary
Palma of Commack.

Ms. Palma said her mother-in-law on the afternoon she was killed, New Year’s Eve
day 2013, visited her at her house in Commack to remind the family to be safe on
New Year’s Eve and that Herta always stayed home on that night after losing a
friend years ago in a New Year’s Eve drunk driving crash.



“We actually spoke of it, obviously not knowing as she drove away that her life
was going to be taken within 9 minutes of her leaving my home,” Mary Palma
wrote.

District Attorney Spota said a change in New York law is needed to include
inhalants as intoxicative substances so drivers who engage in “huffing” and
driving can be charged with driving under the influence. Alaska, Georgia,
Kentucky, New Jersey, Utah, and Vermont specifically include inhalants in their
laws governing driving under the influence of drugs and alcohol.
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