Skip to search box Skip to main content
Text Only Version


Council on Environmental Quality

The Council on Environmental Quality was established in 1970 by Article I of the Suffolk County Charter otherwise known as the Environmental Bill of Rights. In 1972 the County established the Suffolk County Historic Trust and appointed the CEQ members as trustees. The Council’s primary responsibilities include providing advice and assistance to any department, board, commission or agency of Suffolk County government on the implementation of and compliance with the State Environmental Quality Review Act.

Long Island Regional Planning Council

The Long Island Regional Planning Council (LIRPC) is established to represent the various interests and needs of all Long Islanders in providing education, research, planning, advocacy and leadership on important issues affecting the physical, economic and social health, and overall quality of life, of the region and its residents.

Suffolk County Farmland Committee

Suffolk County Farmland Committee meets at 6:00 pm at the Kermit W. Graf Cornell Cooperative Extension Building - 1st Floor Conference Room, 423 Griffing Ave, Ste 100, Riverhead, NY unless otherwise noted (*).

Suffolk County Planning Commission

The County Planning Commission is comprised of 15 members who are nominated by the County Executive and are confirmed by the County Legislature. Of the 15 Commissioners, one represents each of the ten towns in Suffolk, one represents villages with population under 5000, one represents villages with population over 5000 and there are three at large representatives. County law also requires that the Commission members collectively reflect a variety of backgrounds including in law, business, real estate, labor, environmental action and transportation.

Suffolk County Government

H. Lee Dennison Bldg

100 Veterans Memorial Hwy
P.O. Box 6100
Hauppauge, NY 11788

Riverhead County Center

County Road 51
Riverhead, NY 11901