Skip to search box Skip to main content
Text Only Version

Health News

COVID-19 Regional Update - June 24, 2020, 5:30 p.m.

Long Island enters Phase 3 of reopening; Phase 4 reopening guidance is released; Travelers to the tri-state area must quarantine

Today is day one of Phase 3 of reopening for Long Island. Indoor dining is permitted to resume at 50 percent occupancy, and personal care services including nail salons, tanning salons, spas, tattoo & piercing establishments may open with restrictions.  Guidance for Phase 3 can be found here:

Phase 4 Guidance has been released for: higher education, low-risk outdoor arts & entertainment, low-risk indoor arts & entertainment and media production. The Phase 4 guidance can be found here

The Governor announced today that Individuals traveling from states with significant community spread of COVID-19 will be required to quarantine for 14 days when visiting New York, New Jersey and Connecticut.

As per NYS, anyone traveling to New York, New Jersey or Connecticut from any state that has an infection rate above 10 per 100,000 on the seven-day rolling average or 10 percent of the total population positive on a seven-day rolling average would be required to quarantine for 14-days.

As of today, the states that are above that level include:  

  • Alabama,
  • Arkansas,
  • Arizona,
  • Florida,
  • North Carolina,
  • South Carolina,
  • Washington,
  • Utah,
  • Texas.


Categories: Health, COVID-19


Suffolk County Government

H. Lee Dennison Bldg

100 Veterans Memorial Hwy
P.O. Box 6100
Hauppauge, NY 11788

Riverhead County Center

County Road 51
Riverhead, NY 11901