Suffolk County Laws regarding Sale and Use of Tobacco Products, E-Cigarettes, Liquid Nicotine and Like Products
Liquid Nicotine Warning Requirement
Liquid Nicotine Warning Sign
Beginning June 21, 2015, any person operating a place of business that sells liquid nicotine shall post signage warning of the dangers of liquid nicotine in a conspicuous place at the register where liquid nicotine may be purchased. (Resolution 2174-2014, Suffolk County, New York.)
Hookah Warning Statement
sign for Hookah Smoking
Since 2011, any person operating a Retail Tobacco Establishment that allows Hookah smoking shall post in a conspicuous place, a sign upon which there shall be imprinted a Health Warning. (Suffolk County Sanitary Code 760-1106)
Smoking/Vaping Prohibited in Public Places
Smoking/Vaping Prohibited sign
Since 2009, it has been illegal to use e-cigarettes and similar products in public places where traditional forms of smoking are banned. (Local Law 29-2009 Suffolk County, New York.)
Sale of Tobacco Products to Individuals under Age 21 Prohibited
Temporary signage is available HERE
As of January 1, 2015, any person operating a place of business wherein tobacco products or herbal cigarettes are sold or offered for sale is prohibited from selling such products, herbal cigarettes, rolling papers or pipes to individuals under 21 years of age, and shall post, in a conspicuous place, a sign upon which there shall be imprinted a statement regarding this law. (Local Law 185-2014, Suffolk County, New York)
New signs will be available soon.
Anyone who violates these requirements may be fined a minimum of $300.
Suffolk County Department of Health Services
Office of Health Education: Tobacco Enforcement Unit
North County Complex
725 Veterans Memorial Highway
Hauppauge, NY 11788
(MUST USE SMITHTOWN, NY 11787 IF USING GPS)
Thursday, May 2, 2019
10:00 PM to 12:00 PM
Friday, June 14, 2019
10:00 AM to 12:00 PM
Thursday, July 18, 2019
10:00 PM to 12:00 PM
Vendor Education Certificate
It is required that at least one employee from every business location obtain a Suffolk County Tobacco Vendor Education Certificate every 3 years. Either this course or the online course will fulfill this requirement. Neither of these courses count as the optional New York State certified Tobacco Sales Education course necessary for point reduction. If you wish to obtain more information on this optional course, it will be available at the class.
Effective January 2017, a $50 fee will be collected for the renewal of the Tobacco Vendor Education Certificate. Vendors are encouraged to have all employees attend a class or complete the on-line course. One can send as many employees as they wish for the $50 fee. There is no additional fee beyond the renewal fee for the facility.
Fill out the class registration form and mail it to the address at the top of the form
Fax your registration to 631-853-2958
Please call 631-853-3162 after sending in your registration form to confirm that the office has received it as well as to confirm that availability of the date chosen.
Those who are not confirmed will NOT be admitted into the class.
YOU MUST BE ON TIME FOR THIS CLASS
NO LATE ARRIVALS WILL BE ADMITTED
PLEASE USE THE FOLLOWING ADDRESS: 725 Veterans Highway, Smithtown, NY 11787 for G.P.S. or Mapquest. We are in Building C016 which is a one story brick building. It is in the middle of Building 50 (IT) and Building 17 (Consumer Affairs / Dept. of Labor). Enter by the brown sign that reads "SC Dept. of Health Services, Office of Health Education". The classroom will be on the left.