Skip to search box Skip to main content

Click the links below for information from Suffolk County on the current pandemic

Text Only Version

Jonathan Keyes

Chair, Downtown Revitalization Citizens Advisory Panel


 H. Lee Dennision Building
11th Floor
100 Veterans Memorial Highway
Hauppauge, New York 11788

  (631) 853-4800
Fax: (631) 853-4767
 Contact Us

Downtown Revitalization

Downtowns are an important part of sustainable growth in Suffolk County and help to define our communities and quality of life. The Suffolk County Downtown Revitalization Panel was created to advise the County on issues affecting the resurgence and economic viability of our downtowns and business districts. The Panel recommended the creation of a funding program that will help towns, villages and community organizations expand on their efforts to enhance their downtowns, attract visitors and shoppers into the area, and thereby stimulate economic activity in these important centers. Since its inception the Downtown Revitalization Grant Program has funded projects including projects such as street lights, sidewalks, public restrooms, off street parking lots and renovating alleyways which lead from parking areas to the main street.

To administer the competitive Downtown Revitalization Grant Program and to make recommendations for funding to the Suffolk County Legislature

To facilitate dialogue and to share best practices on issues that affect the viability, safety and economic stability of the downtown areas.

To hear and learn from speakers on issues that affect the viability of the business community such as financing, energy, business planning and marketing.

Applications and Instructions

In light of the COVID-19 pandemic, the due date for Downtown Revitalization grants has been
postponed to June 19, 2020. Furthermore, grant submissions should now be made electronically,
with no need to submit paper copies. Please download the new application and guidelines below
for further information.

Suffolk County Executive Steven Bellone and the Suffolk County Downtown Revitalization Citizens Advisory Panel are pleased to announce the availability of the Downtown Revitalization 2020 Round (Round 18) Grant Applications. Eligible applicants must partner with a local municipality (town of village). That application incorporates the Panel's intent to support projects that will have an important and sustainable impact on downtowns. All applications will be reviewed and scored via a merit based grading system.
Applications are due by 4:30pm on Friday, June 19, 2020.

The 2020 Round (Round 18) application and instructions are available to applicants by clicking on these links:

Downtown Revitalization 2020 Round (Round 18) Grant APPLICATION (fillable form must be downloaded)

Downtown Revitalization 2020 Round (Round 18) Grant GUIDELINES

Additional Information

Downtown Revitalization 2020 Round (Round 18) Applicant Workshop Presentation


Downtown Revitalization Citizens Advisory Panel Meetings

2020 Meeting Schedule

Note: Meetings begin at 4:30pm and are held at the H. Lee Dennison Bldg., Hauppauge, 2nd floor Planning Conference Room unless otherwise noted.

January 27 Kickoff Meeting
February 24 Regular Meeting & Application Training
March 23 Regular Meeting
April 27 No meeting (unless necessary)
May 18 Regular Meeting: Last meeting before applications are due
June 22 DTR Application Review/ Discussion
July 13 DTR Application Review/ Discussion
July 27 DTR Application Review/ Discussion/ Funding Recommendations
August 10 Call for changes/ revisions/ updates to DTR application/ guidelines/ revised timeline (if necessary)
September 28 Downtown Tour - TBD
October 26 Regular Meeting (if necessary)
November 23 Regular Meeting (if necessary)
December 10 No meeting




Citizens Advisory Panel


Citizens Advisory Panel Representing
Jonathan Keyes, Director of Downtown and Transit-Oriented Development SC County Executive
Matthew Kapell, Suffolk County Landbank SC Planning Director
Steven Shauger, Riverhead Business Improvement District Management Association Leg. Albert Krupski
Meagan Zegarelli, Legislative Aide to Southampton Town Council Leg. Bridget Fleming
Jon Siebert, Friends of Shirley and the Mastics Leg. Rudolph Sunderman
Robert L. Martinez, Legislative District # 4 Leg. Tom Muratore
Jane Taylor, Executive Director, Three Village Chamber of Commerce Leg. Kara Hahn
Dr. Charles Bevington Leg. Sarah Anker
Dennis Smith, Patchogue Business Improvement District Leg. Robert Calarco
Rick Ammirati, President, Holbrook Chamber of Commerce Leg. Anthony Piccirillo
Florence Joyner, Opportunities Industrialization Center of Suffolk, Inc. Leg. Samuel Gonzalez
Robert Moses Kuri, Town of Islip – Community Development Agency Leg. Tom Cilmi
Doris Kennedy, Islip Chamber of Commerce Leg. Steven Flotteron
Gina Coletti, Nesconset Chamber of Commerce Leg. Leslie Kennedy
Charles Gardner, Executive Vice President, LI Chapter of the National Electrical Contractors Assoc.; Vice President Kings Park Chamber of Commerce Leg. Robert Trotta
Jo Ann Boettcher, Lindenhurst Chamber of Commerce Leg. Kevin McCaffrey
John Di Liberto, Amityville Chamber of Commerce & Historical Society Leg. Jason Richberg
Jackie Merriweather Leg. Susan Berland
Jennifer Casey, Huntington Economic Development Corporation Leg. Tom Donnelly
Walter Rabe Leg. William Spencer

Suffolk County Government

H. Lee Dennison Bldg

100 Veterans Memorial Hwy
P.O. Box 6100
Hauppauge, NY 11788

Riverhead County Center

County Road 51
Riverhead, NY 11901