Skip to search box Skip to main content
Text Only Version

Jonathan Keyes

Chair, Downtown Revitalization Citizens Advisory Panel


 H. Lee Dennision Building
2nd Floor
100 Veterans Memorial Highway
Hauppauge, New York 11788

  (631) 853-4800
Fax: (631) 853-4767
 Contact Us

Downtown Revitalization

Downtowns are an important part of sustainable growth in Suffolk County and help to define our communities and quality of life. The Suffolk County Downtown Revitalization Panel was created to advise the County on issues affecting the resurgence and economic viability of our downtowns and business districts. The Panel recommended the creation of a funding program – the Downtown Revitalization Grant Program − to help towns, villages and community organizations expand their efforts to enhance their downtowns, attract visitors and shoppers into the area, and thereby stimulate economic activity in these important centers. The Downtown Revitalization Panel aims to:

  1. Administer the competitive Downtown Revitalization Grant Program and to make recommendations for funding to the Suffolk County Legislature.
  2. Facilitate dialogue and to share best practices on issues that affect the viability, safety and economic stability of the downtown areas.
  3. To hear and learn from speakers on issues that affect the viability of the business community such as financing, energy, business planning and marketing.

Since its inception, the Downtown Revitalization Grant Program has funded projects such as streetlights, sidewalks, public restrooms, off-street parking lots and renovating alleyways which lead from parking areas to the main street.

For more information on these funded projects, please visit the Downtown Revitalization Grant Portal which maps the geographic scope of past grant awards across Suffolk County.

Applications and Instructions

Suffolk County Executive Edward P. Romaine and the Suffolk County Downtown Revitalization Citizens Advisory Panel are proud to announce the 22nd Round of the Downtown Revitalization Grant Program in 2024. Over twenty-one previously held funding rounds, Suffolk County has financially supported over 300 projects across the county that have enhanced and revitalized the county’s downtowns and this year’s 22nd Round will continue the wide-reaching impact of this program.

Applications for Round 22 are due by 4 pm on Friday, May 17th, 2024. Resources for the Round 22 can be found below, as well as the Informational Webinar Presentation for Round 21 and Project Best Practices:

Round 22 Application

Round 22 Program Guidelines

Sample Resolution

Handbook to Downtown Revitalization Best Practices

Round 22 Webinar Recording

Round 22 Informational Webinar

Downtown Revitalization Grant Portal

For additional information, please contact our office at

Downtown Revitalization Citizens Advisory Panel Meetings

2024 Meeting Schedule

Note: Meetings begin at 3:30pm and will be held via Zoom until further notice. If you are interested in attending, please contact Suffolk Economic Development & Planning at

Wednesday, February 21st Round 22 Application Published
Wednesday, March 6th at 2pm Round 22 Informational Webinar (Hosted by Suffolk County Economic Development & Planning Staff)
Friday, May 17th Round 22 Application Deadline
Monday, June 10th Downtown Citizens Advisory Panel Discussion on Round 22 Applications (*All DTR Panel Meetings Are Open to Applicants and the Public)
Wednesday, July 24th Downtown Citizens Advisory Panel Recommends Select Round 22 Projects to Suffolk County Legislature
Thursday, October 24th Suffolk County Legislature Awards Round 22 Funding
January 2025 - April 2025* Round 22 Contracts Begin to Be Issued to Partner Municipalities
January 2025 - April 2025 (Start Date) to
January 2027 - April 2027 (End Date)*
Estimated Round 22 Contract Term of Agreements


Citizens Advisory Panel

Citizens Advisory Panel Representing
Steven Shauger Leg. Catherine Stark
Meagan Zegarelli Leg. Ann Welker
Joe Maiorana Leg. James Mazzarella
Leah Fitzpatrick Leg. Nick Caracappa
Jane Taylor Leg. Steven Engelbright
Susan Wilson Leg. Chad Lennon
David Kennedy Leg. Dominick S. Thorne
Rick Ammirati Leg. Anthony A. Piccirillo
Elvin Fuentes Leg. Samuel Gonzalez
Dana Ehlich Leg. Trish Bergin
Doris Kennedy Leg. Steven J. Flotteron
Gina Coletti Leg. Leslie Kennedy
Charles Gardner Leg. Robert Trotta
Jo Ann Boettcher Leg. Kevin J. McCaffrey
Michael O'Neill Leg. Jason Richberg
Jackie Merriweather Leg. Rebecca Sanin
Melissa Mohan Leg. Tom Donnelly
Vita Scaturro Leg. Stephanie Bontempi
Matthew Kapell Planning Department Representative
Jonathan Keyes, Panel Chair SC County Executive Represenative
Annette Brownell
James Brako McComb
Kathania Fredes
Olivia Kulasa
Nancy Shahverdi
DTR Panel Staff

Suffolk County Government

H. Lee Dennison Bldg

100 Veterans Memorial Hwy
P.O. Box 6100
Hauppauge, NY 11788

Riverhead County Center

County Road 51
Riverhead, NY 11901