Article 27 of the Environmental Conservation Law (ECL) has been amended to create a new Title 28 for the New York State Bag Waste Reduction Act. The law takes effect March 1, 2020 and prohibits the distribution of plastic carryout bags by retailers in New York state.
In addition, effective March 1, 2020, Suffolk County Local Law No. 9-2020, requires that a 5 cent paper carryout bag reduction fee is charged on each paper carryout bag provided by a person required to collect tax to a customer in Suffolk County. The paper carryout bag reduction fee must be reflected and made payable on the sales slip, invoice, receipt, or other statement of the price rendered to the customer.
For more information, please visit: Introductory-Resolution-2055-19-PDF
Effective January 1, 2018 Suffolk County local law will require stores to charge customers a minimum fee of 5 cents on carryout bags that are provided at retail stores.
The purpose of this law is to encourage consumers to use their own reusable bags for shopping and to reduce the environmental impacts associated with single use bags.